Kindly Share This

Governor Biodun Oyebanji of Ekiti State has sworn in four new permanent secretaries, urging them to uphold transparency, integrity, and prudence in their duties.

Ekiti News reports that during the swearing-in ceremony on Monday at the conference hall of the Governor’s office in Ado-Ekiti, Governor Oyebanji encouraged the newly appointed Permanent Secretaries to promote teamwork, build confidence, and uphold collective responsibility.

The Governor emphasized the importance of inspiring others by actively contributing as solution providers.

Encouraging the new appointees to integrate innovation and technology into their official responsibilities, Governor Oyebanji challenged them to demonstrate their worth through exceptional performance.

The Governor emphasized the importance of bringing creativity, compassion, and vigor to their roles as permanent secretaries.

He said, “I am so happy that today’s exercise is a product of a merit-based examination process and not as a result of man-know-man. I am also happy that people can become Permanent Secretaries without knowing anybody. I am so glad and proud of myself that this is happening.”

Governor Oyebanji highlighted that the appointments stem from the competitive examinations conducted for both the State and Local Government in 2023.

The Governor urged the new Permanent Secretaries to view their roles as managing both human and material resources of the government.

Governor Oyebanji said “ You must therefore be committed to probity, transparency, and prudence, especially at a time like this. As human resource managers, you will be expected to foster an atmosphere of teamwork, confidence building, and collective responsibility.

“You should be a leader who inspires others and a solution provider. You must also embrace innovation and technology.

“In the next few months, this administration will be two years in office, we therefore need to run faster than we have been; accordingly, all permanent secretaries must double up and increase the tempo of service delivery to achieve the shared prosperity agenda of government as it relates to their ministries, departments and agencies.”

The four new permanent secretaries were Mrs. Funke Ajibola, Mr Michael Boluade, Mr Foluso Akinwumi, and Mr Rotimi Akomolede.

The event was graced by the presence of Deputy Governor Chief (Mrs) Monisade Afuye, Secretary to the State Government Dr. Habibat Adubiaro, Head of Service Engr. Sunday Komolafe, members of the State Executive Council, the body of Permanent Secretaries, and traditional rulers, among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *