Kindly Share This

The Ekiti State Government has hailed the official transfer of regulatory oversight from the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC) to the Ekiti Electricity Regulatory Bureau (EERB) as a significant milestone.

The government stated that the move is expected to streamline processes and minimize bureaucratic obstacles in the quest to ensure uninterrupted electricity supply and distribution in the state.

Rt. Hon. Taiwo Olatunbosun, the State Commissioner for Information in a statement on Wednesday in Ado Ekiti, noted that being one of the first two States in the country to officially take regulatory oversight of the electricity markets in their States made the feat more astounding.

The Commissioner clarified that this development aligns with the amended Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (CFRN), the Electricity Act 2023 (Amended), and the directive of the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC).

Rt. Hon. Olatunbosun while attributing the turn of events to efforts of Governor Oyebanji to ensure provision of uninterrupted electricity supply, reiterated the commitment of the present administration to developing the State and improving the lots of the people, adding that the State Government was particularly passionate about provision of stable electricity to boost socioeconomic activities in the State.

The Commissioner explained that the State Government had requested for the transfer of regulatory oversight of the intrastate electricity market in the State, adding that the request for transfer was in fulfilment of NERC’s mandate to interested States to make formal requests to NERC to transfer regulatory authority over electricity operations to the State Regulator.

He stressed that the State Electricity Regulatory Bureau (SERB) would henceforth be responsible for enforcing the provisions of the law including issuing of licenses and permits for generation, transmission and distribution of electricity across the State; enforcing the yearly energy efficiency compliance certification for vendors and marketers of energy products as well as the certification of energy professionals, contractors and companies and all other functions previously performed in the State by the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC).

The Government Spokesman added that the Bureau would also be in charge of carrying out electrical inspection, monitoring and certification of new and existing electricity networks as well as enforcing statutory technical electrical standards and regulations for safety and security across the state and other functions previously performed by National Electricity Management Services Agency (NEMSA).

According to Olatubosun, Benin Electricity Distribution Company (BEDC) and Ibadan Electricity Distribution Company PLC (IBEDC) have been directed to incorporate subsidiaries (BEDC SubCo and IBEDC SubCo) to assume responsibilities for intrastate supply and distribution of electricity in the State from BEDC and IBEDC within 60 days.

He explained further that the sub-companies would thereafter be expected to apply for and obtain licenses for the intrastate supply and distribution of electricity from EERB, among other directives.

The Commissioner stressed that all transfers are envisaged to be completed before the end of October 2024, stated that the move would boost efforts to achieve uninterrupted supply and distribution of electricity in the State.

Highlighting the achievements of Governor Oyebanji’s administration in the power sector, Olatunbosun noted the establishment of the 5-Megawatt Independent Power Project, currently providing uninterrupted power supply to Government Offices and key installations in the state capital. Additionally, the administration rehabilitated and connected Erijiyan, Ikogosi, and Ikogosi Resorts back to the National Grid to enhance the state’s tourism corridor.

Other accomplishments include the rehabilitation and connection of various communities such as Ipole Iloro-Ekiti, Ijan, Ilumoba, Aisegba, Agbado, Imesi, Ode, Isinbode, Egbe, Iro-Ayeteju, and Omuo in Ayekire and Ekiti East LGAs to the National Grid. The extension of the 33KV network from 132KV Omisanjana transmission substation to Baptist High School and the connection of Ilawe Dedicated 33KV feeder line with Erijiyan-Ekiti were also completed.

The administration further installed a 500kVA 33/0.415 relief transformer at Ikogosi, extended electricity from Eruku, Kwara State to the agricultural zone in Iyemero, and extended electricity from Omuo-Ekiti to Eda-Ile, Ikun Oba, Araromi, and Ilasa Ekiti. Several ongoing initiatives, including the extension of a dedicated 33kv feeder line from Omisanjana through Ilawe to Igbara Odo, were highlighted.

In his remarks, the State Commissioner for Infrastructure and Public Utilities, Prof Bolaji Aluko, welcomed the “definitive statement by NERC” and expressed readiness to collaborate closely with relevant stakeholders for the realization of the goals of ECA2023 and EA2023. He acknowledged the support of Governor Oyebanji in achieving these milestones and expressed confidence in the continued progress with the proper legal frameworks and financial structuring.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *